Telegraph Trail IV

June 2, 2014 § Leave a comment

Leaving the designated historic part of Telegraph Trail, as this horse and rider do,

Leaving Telegraph Trailtakes you along many isolated parts of the Fraser River Valley where other relics of the past are hidden on back roads, such as this old railway station that new owners were apparently restoring to be their home. Train StationCycling further I came across llamas and a bull that was dwarfed by Washington state’s Mt. Baker, a volcano that with the naked eye you can see steam venting where mountain reaches sky.  Oddly, though, this major steam vent never appears in any of my photographs.

Telegraph Trail llama 1

Telegraph Trail llama2

Mt Baker But I can ride only so far on a bicycle and eventually I get to the edge of Langley.  Beyond, the mountains of British Columbia beckon.

Telegraph Trail & beyondAnd I think, “If only I had a motorcycle I could just ride on forever.”

Telegraph Trail DreamingBut looking back I see I have miles to go before I sleep.  My path will now lead down from these hills I’ve climbed, across the Fraser River Valley floor, and off still further to the left, outside the frame of this last picture before I am home.Fraser ValleyI hope you enjoyed the Telegraph Trail.  In these four posts I tried to give a sense of how special I felt cycling along this bit of British Columbia history and how enjoyable this 80 kilometer ride was.  Thanks for visiting.  Enjoy all your summers!

Tagged: , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Telegraph Trail IV at awilliamsii.

meta

