Family Photos in B&W

May 15, 2015 § Leave a comment

I’ve been looking through my family’s photograph albums for a couple of reasons.  One was to find some old photos of Vancouver but like most families our albums are of family members, not city streets.  The second reason is to study old black and white photographs.

Photography, as you know, started with B&W and many classic photos are in B&W.  There is something about old B&W photos that are difficult, if not impossible, for me to duplicate even though I have programs like Silver Efex Pro 2 at my disposal.  Take these two, for example, that are simple black on snow photos from the 1940’s.  FYI: the originals are about 2 by 3 inches.

black on snow 1945 Mom in snow

This next one is a scan of an 8 by 10 inch photo of a man, a relation on my dad’s side but I’m not sure who, with his catch from the Fraser River.

native fisherman

Finally, here is one from 1929.  Possibly my grandparents on my mother’s side but I’m waiting for confirmation of that from my relatives there.

Grandparents

Tagged: , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Family Photos in B&W at awilliamsii.

meta

