A Song for all Indian Residential School Survivors

June 2, 2015 § Leave a comment

I’ve been burning and yearning

     for all of these years

I’ve been falling through darkness and

     choking back tears

I’ve been wondering if I was to make it,

     if I would survive.

 

I’ve been stumbling though blunders

     and hating myself

I’ve been blaming the others and everyone else

I’ve been raging for reasons

     that I do not care to confide.

 

I did not see the gifts that were given to me

Oh I took my position so seriously

And the hate that I pushed you away

     with left me alone.

 

How I nurtured my feelings of separateness

How I cursed blameless people in my wilderness

I was lost in the darkness

     and now it’s my time to confide

 

That I, yes I am the light.

 

To the four-legged creatures around us on earth

To the birds and the fishes: to the dirt

To the air that I breathe

     and the colour blue of the sky.

 

Can you fathom the wonders

     surrounding us now?

There are so many questions

     and answers abound.

 

Aren’t you glad that you’re with us today, that

     you’re alive?

 

For you and I are the light

For I, yes I am the light.

 

“The Light” by Eden Fine Day        (Youtube link)

From the CD “Things Get Better”

Tagged: , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading A Song for all Indian Residential School Survivors at awilliamsii.

meta

